Alan Turing Fellowships

This is a unique opportunity for early career researchers to join The Alan Turing Institute. The Alan Turing Institute is the UK’s new national data science institute, established to bring together world-leading expertise to provide leadership in the emerging field of data science. The Institute has been founded by the universities of Cambridge, Edinburgh, Oxford, UCL and Warwick and EPSRC.

Fellowships are available for 3 years with the potential for an additional 2 years of support following interim review. Fellows will pursue research based at the Institute hub in the British Library, London. Fellowships will be awarded to individual candidates and fellows will be employed by a joint venture partner university (Cambridge, Edinburgh, Oxford, UCL or Warwick).

Key requirements: Successful candidates are expected to have i) a PhD in a data science (or adjacent) subject (or to have submitted their doctorate before taking up the post), ii) an excellent publication record and/or demonstrated excellent research potential such as via preprints, iii) a novel and challenging research agenda that will advance the strategic objectives of the Institute, and iv) leadership potential. Fellowships are open to all qualified applicants regardless of background.

Continue reading

‘Impact of UK Computer Science Research’ Report Released

Available from:

This is based on the 280 impact case studies submitted to the 2014 Research Excellence Framework (REF) sub panel 11 Computer Science and Informatics by Eighty Seven institutions.  Over 80% of the case studies had some form of economic impact, including spin-out businesses created by universities, software tools and techniques developed by research projects which have benefited the efficiency of both computing practitioners in large and small organisations, as well as standard security and communication protocols in daily use by millions of users. The annual revenue generated from those spinouts which included figures in the case studies, was in excess of £170 million and they had nearly 1900 employees. The additional sales revenues attributed to the academic research in industries such as aerospace, telecommunications, computing and energy was about £400 million.  Some of the impact has been in the form of public policy, for example in terms of identifying security risks, informing healthcare decisions or public debate on ethical issues. There has been considerable social impact in terms of new healthcare procedures and treatments as well as aids for disabled or elderly people. Continue reading

Cybersecurity to Become Core Component of UK Computing Degrees

A consortium of industry, academia and government bodies – led by CPHC and (ISC)2 – has created cybersecurity learning guidelines to be embedded into BCS accredited UK Computer Science and IT-related degrees

Universities now have access to the UK’s first higher education cybersecurity learning guidelines for undergraduate degrees to be referenced within BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT, accreditation criteria for computing and IT-related degrees. Published by (ISC)2, the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified information and software security professionals with nearly 110,000 members worldwide, and the Council of Professors and Head of Computing (CPHC), the guidelines reflect broad consultation with more than 30 universities and industry bodies. Developed in support of the UK government’s National Cybersecurity Strategy, the guidelines define cybersecurity imperatives and learning outcomes affecting the next wave of computing degrees from as early as September 2015.

Continue reading

CPHC Committee 2015-2016

CPHC Chair, Sally Smith, continues for the second year of her two-year term, as does Carsten Maple (University of Warwick) as Vice Chair.  Colin Johnson (Kent) takes over as Secretary from David Duce (Oxford Brookes), who retires from the committee with thanks from everyone for his service.  Edmund Robinson (Queen Mary, London) continues as Treasurer and Iain Phillips as Past Chair.

Current committee members, Balbir Barn (Middlesex), Miltos Petredis (Brighton), Stephen Jarvis,(Warwick) Sally Fincher (Kent), Rupert Ward (Huddersfield) and Vic Grout (Glyndwr), are joined by new committee member, Keith Miller (Manchester Metropolitan).  Ian Wells (Swansea Metropolitan Trinity St. David) also retires with thanks.

Continue reading