New Committee Elected

Carsten Maple (Warwick) takes over from Sally Smith (Edinburgh Napier) as Chair.  (Sally remains on the committee as Immediate Past Chair.)  Sally Fincher (Kent) takes the position of Vice Chair.  Colin Johnson (Kent) continues as Secretary and Edmund Robinson (Queen Mary) as Treasurer.

Current committee members, Balbir Barn (Middlesex), Vic Grout (Wrexham Glyndwr), Keith Miller (Manchester Metropolitan), Miltos Petredis (Brighton) and Rupert Ward (Huddersfield), are joined by new committee members, Ian Allison, (West of Scotland), Ray Farmer (Coventry) and a returning Ian Wells (Wales Trinity Saint David).

Continue reading

Annual Conference Opens

The 2016 CPHC Conference and AGM, opens on Monday 25th April 2016 at Manchester Metropolitan University.

The full agenda (PDF) is available here

Speakers include our Patron, Maggie Philbin, Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt, Professor Steve Furber, Professor Malcolm Press, Professor Graham Cormode, Professor Sean Ryan, Dr. Bill Mitchell, Sally Smith, Liam Blackwell, Jenny Taylor, Zia Hayat, Katie Gallagher, Colin Adams, Nicola Turner, Olivia Tan and many more.

cphc16Keith Miller, Prof Sir Nigel Shadbolt, Sally Smith & Prof Malcolm Press

Topics cover employability and accreditation, strategy and priorities, employer perspectives and degree apprenticeships, entrepreneurship and the ‘start-up’ culture, CS education and funding, BCS students and The Alan Turing Institute, among others.

Continue reading

Next Steps Workshop on Cybersecurity, Accreditation and Computing Science

Fresh on the heels of a UK university tour which gleaned input from 60 HEI’s, this will be an opportunity to shape priorities for the support we provide to enhance cybersecurity content within computing science degrees and meet new guidelines for accreditation. The session will review the recommendations received from the universities, and inform the development of supporting materials and resources that will be made available to the computing science community. We will cover work that universities are actively working on today, including curriculum development projects funded by the HEA, proposals to develop an online resource repository; professional development and staff training; case histories; infrastructure specifications and more.

Manchester Metropolitan University, All Saints Campus, Oxford Road.  Tuesday April 26, 13:00 – 14:30 (following lunch at the CPHC Annual Conference)

Led by Carsten Maple, Vice-Chair CPHC and Adrian Davis, CISSP, Managing Director EMEA (ISC)2.  This session is hosted with the support of the UK Office of Cybersecurity and information Assurance.

Continue reading